July/ Book-tube-a-thon Wrap Up

I am shamed.  During the seven day Booktubeathon I read only 3 books:

images (10)

 7/12 stars

The Murders In The Rue Morgue

Challenges applied: finish a book in a day, hyped in Sherlockian lore, people in the distance.

I kinda regret reading this so fast because there is so much logical detail, but I am thankful it propelled me to read it fast because the second story..ugh.

read my marginalia here

 

     A Spell For Chameleon      8/12 stars

download

 

 

Challenges: person on the cover, Bink is different from me.

So sexist, but the story was great and the magic detailed. Review coming!    

 

 

W Juliet  

10/12 stars

Challenges: Finish a book in one day, people on the cover, characters are different download (1)from me.

Does manga count?

This was a cute romance. The transvestite twist and it’s immersion in their drama club gives it an interesting difference from most r/c manga. The artwork was beautiful without being overly detailed, an uncommon asset in manga.

My only problem is how one dimensional the rivals are. They are there only to serve the plot and have no human complexities.

So that was the week of Booktubeathon, but in July overall I read 8 books. Ok, 2 others are manga. Need opinions! Does manga count? Highlights include Game Of Thrones and Strange The Dreamer.

Blog wrap up:

Snakes In Fiction  Inspired a few creative comments, with Summer Book Quotes following.

Other blogs that caught my attention:

H20 Book Review, book RW Directory: This sounds like a great book, but how exactly does it work? Every living thing has water, every living thing needs water to survive. What can they eat when the water is poisonous? 

Awkward Blogging Moments, Ilsa@ A Whisper Of Ink: People talk about their blogs? Blogs are for internet. People are for…Maybe a few have uses, but I’m not sure what the general human populace is for. She has real points that bloggers experience. 

Holly Visits Willa Cather’s Grave Call me creepy but I love graves. I love Hitlers’ scattered ashes. I love…stopping now. Seriously, visiting such a historic site would be an amazing experience, as long as you gave me time to read her books.

And seriously,I love graves.

2 thoughts on “July/ Book-tube-a-thon Wrap Up

  1. I think three books is still really good!! I think anything counts towards being considered a “book”…. reading is reading! 🙂

    Thanks so much for the shout out! I’m glad I’m not the only one who finds literary graves fascinating 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I think graves are keepsakes really, or like one of those time boxes people bury to preserve a part of their time. They say how rich a person was, their religious beliefs and what they thought was most important based on their epigraph.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

