Sherlock vs. The Book

My computer seems to be mad at me, so I have to keep this short.

I am reading The Complete Sherlock Holmes, vol.1. I started it after I saw seasons one and two of Sherlock (Cumberbatch version).

My computer doesn’t know who Benedict Cumberbatch is. No wonder we don’t get along.

There’s the obvious time difference, as the book is set in the 1800s and the series starting in 2010, but there is quite a difference in the stories. In the series, Moriarty is somehow involved in everything, but in all of Study in Scarlet there is no mention of the great Moriarty. I have yet to read more, but it seems as if there will be a more realistic amount of Moriarty’s involvement in the books.

The writing is annoying at times, as Watson/Doyle repeats himself when describing something. (“simous and ape-like” just choose one already, and old-fashioned, obviously, but not to Shakespearean language. It is limited, more so than the series because book Watson does not follow Sherlock everywhere, but waits for Sherlock’s account. It is not as humorous, and I so love the series better.

p01grjmd

2 thoughts on “Sherlock vs. The Book

Leave a Reply

